Lancashire’s top budding physicists recognised at awards event

14 July 2019

UCLan and Ogden Trust present Lancashire Schools’ Physicist of the Year Awards

Some of the county’s top budding scientists have been recognised for their skills and abilities at a special awards evening hosted by the University of Central Lancashire (UCLan).

The Lancashire Schools’ Physicist of the Year (SPOTY) Awards, sponsored by the Ogden Trust, celebrates the abilities and achievements in physics of the highest achieving Years 10 and 12 pupils from across Lancashire.

28 pupils from 20 schools attended the annual awards presentation. Recipients of the award are handed a book token and a certificate from the Ogden Trust, but more importantly, may access possible future benefits from the Trust, including grants to undertake independent travel for voluntary work, and opportunities to gain vacation internships in schools or universities when at university.

It is the tenth time UCLan has hosted the prestigious event alongside the Ogden Trust, which aims to promote the teaching and learning of physics.

"We are very proud of all our award winners and look forward to their becoming the innovative physicists of the future."

Barbara Grundy, a consultant in university outreach for the Ogden Trust, said: “The Ogden Trust is delighted to sponsor the annual SPOTY event at UCLan, which recognises and celebrates young people in local schools who enjoy physics and have worked really hard to achieve great things.

These 27 pupils have been nominated by their schools as they have demonstrated a scientific curiosity which has enhanced their enthusiasm and resulted in high levels of achievement – often sharing this passion with their fellow pupils. The Ogden Trust is a charity that works with schools, colleges and universities across the country to encourage more young people, of all ages, to consider studying physics and to give them insight into the careers available to them if they do. We are very proud of all our award winners and look forward to their becoming the innovative physicists of the future.”

UCLan lecturer Dr Aimilia Smyrli from the Jeremiah Horrocks Institute for Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, is an Ogden Science Officer alongside lecturing at the University and organises the event.

She said: “UCLan is proud to work with the Ogden Trust in recognising the fantastic achievements of our future physicists. All of the award recipients have worked incredibly hard and this award will provide them with new opportunities to progress in their studies.”

The young scientists were nominated for a variety of reasons including producing outstanding coursework, a passion and enthusiasm for the subject and taking part in science-related extra-curricular activities.