Skip to main content

University Board of Governors

The University Board is the governing body of the University of Central Lancashire and its business is conducted in accordance with the Instrument and Articles of Government detailed below. It delegates certain parts of its responsibilities to Committees which are serviced and supported by the Clerk to the Board.

David Taylor smiling
David Taylor CBE DL
Chair, Foundation Trustee

David is Chairman of the Preston-based company David Taylor Partnerships (DTP) Limited, one of the leading exponents of urban regeneration, with extensive experience in the public, private and voluntary sectors. His companies have developed numerous major residential and mixed-use schemes throughout the UK, including joint ventures with companies like The British Land Company plc and Kajima International.

Jim Edney smiling
Jim Edney
Deputy Chair, Foundation Trustee

Jim is an alumnus of the University of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne. He has extensive experience in public finance and strategic management for local government, having served as Chief Financial Officer of Essex, and Deputy Chief Executive and Director of resources at Lancashire County Council.

Fiona Armstrong smiling
Dr Fiona Armstrong
Foundation Trustee

Fiona is an award-winning television journalist with 40 years’ experience in news presenting and reporting. She has worked for ITN and BBC News and made fishing programmes for ITV and Sky. She currently presents a current affairs show for ITV Border.

Graham Baldwin smiling
Professor Graham Baldwin
Foundation Trustee

The Vice-Chancellor is the principal academic and administrative officer of the University and is responsible to the Chairman of the Governors. As Vice-Chancellor, Graham is responsible for the leadership and management of the University within the principles laid down by the Board of Governors, of which he is an ex-officio member. Graham is supported by the Vice-Chancellor's Group, which includes the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, the Chief Officers and the Pro Vice-Chancellors.

Zuleikha Chikh smiling
Zuleikha Chikh
Foundation Trustee, Students’ Union

Zuleikha is the current President of the University’s Students’ Union and the Chair of its Trustee Board. She is responsible for the Union’s leadership team of Elected Officers, whose role involves representing the views of students at the University and ensuring they get the best possible academic and student experience during their time here.

Nicky Danino smiling
Dr Nicole Danino
Foundation Trustee

Nicky has over 18 years of experience in the Higher Education sector and is a member of the Higher Education Academy and the British Computer Society. Following a career as a Computer Science university lecturer, she now provides leadership for business development, marketing, admissions, partnerships and international activity within Physical Sciences and Computing at the University.

Ridwanah Gurjee smiling
Dr Ridwanah Gurjee
Foundation Trustee

Ridwanah is a Principal Lecturer in the School of Social Work, Care and Community. Ridwanah is Academic Lead for subjects in Community Leadership and Children, Schools and Families. She also leads the International activities within the school and has developed her specialism of peer mentoring, globally, with students and young people from the Agadir Orphanage Centre in Morocco.

Richard Hext smiling at desk
Richard Hext
Foundation Trustee

Richard was Group CEO at the University during 2014-15, focussing on our international agenda. He brings a wealth of senior experience in global businesses, having spent most of his 40-year career in shipping. He began as a labourer in a Scottish shipyard before rising to board level positions in several major companies.

Sue Ion smiling
Dame Sue Ion
Foundation Trustee

Dame Sue has enjoyed a distinguished career in the energy sector. She worked for British Nuclear Fuels from 1979 - 2006, rising to the roles of Technology and Operations Director and Chief Technology Officer. Between 2002 to 2008 she was Vice-President and Member of Council of the Royal Academy of Engineering, chairing several key standing committees.

Lesley Lloyd smiling
Lesley Lloyd
Foundation Trustee

Lesley is an experienced Chair, NED and Portfolio CMO with more than three decades of expertise in driving strategic business growth and performance for listed and private enterprises across industries, including significant international experience.

Ruth Lowry smiling
Ruth Lowry
Foundation Trustee

Ruth has a deep understanding of good governance, risk management and internal control. She is a chartered accountant and since 2004 has been head of internal audit at Lancashire County Council.

Her previous work for PricewaterhouseCoopers saw her provide audit services and strategic advice to senior managers and the boards of a range of organisations in the public service and not-for-profit sectors, including a number of higher education institutions.

Anne McCarthy smiling
Anne McCarthy
Foundation Trustee

Anne is an experienced leader in transformational change and a passionate believer in setting people up to succeed. In her current roles as a non-executive director, HR Consultant and Prince’s Trust mentor she has been able to share her expertise across a range of businesses and not-for-profit organisations.

Bill McQueen smiling
Bill McQueen
Foundation Trustee

Following an early career in sales, marketing and business re-engineering, Bill moved into senior HR roles in 1996, focusing on organisational design and development, change and performance management.

After holding senior positions in some of Europe’s biggest companies, Bill made a lifestyle change in 2012 and now works part-time as a consultant specialising in strategic management and transformational change through the progressive management of human resources.

Lorraine Norris smiling
Lorraine Norris
Foundation Trustee

Lorraine has extensive experience working in both the public and private sector. She was a senior manager in local government for over 20 years and most recently was the Chief Executive of Preston City Council for nine years. During her time at Preston City Council she worked with elected members to develop their approach to social value and fairness, often referred to as the Preston Model.

Further information

If you require further information about the work of the Board, please email Ian Fisher or telephone +44 (0)1772 894003 or the Deputy Clerk to the Board, Fiona Winters on +44 (0)1772 89 4002.