Wednesday 30 November 2016

University honours for high achievers

Six recipients will receive honorary awards and join 1,500 graduates on stage

Proud Lancastrians are among the recipients who will receive honorary awards at the University of Central Lancashire’s (UCLan) graduation ceremonies next week.

Squash player Laura Massaro, who reached the world number one position earlier this year, James Cole, managing director of Chorley-based World Travel Holdings, and retired businessman Arthur Whitlock will join three former University staff members to receive their distinguished awards.

They will join 1,500 undergraduate, postgraduate and doctorate students, who will take to the stage of Preston’s Guild Hall to collect their awards in front of family and friends during five award ceremonies taking place between Monday, 5 December, and Wednesday, 7 December.

During the prestigious Winter Degree and Award Ceremonies, the University will confer an Honorary Doctorate to Angela Murphy OBE, in recognition of the significant contribution she made to international development at UCLan.

Honorary Fellowships will be given to:

James Cole - in acknowledgement of the significant contribution he has made to the tourism industry
Peter Hyett - in recognition of the significant contribution he made during his time at UCLan as Group Executive Director of Finance
Laura Massaro - in acknowledgement of the contribution she has made to sport
Professor Norman Burrow - in acknowledgement of the contribution he made to UCLan’s success during his tenure as Pro Vice-Chancellor with specific leadership responsibilities for developments in Cumbria, research and quality and partnerships
Arthur Whitlock - in recognition of his significant contribution he has made to the local community through his charitable endeavours

The plan for the UCLan graduation ceremonies is:

Scroll or swipe on small screens to see all table columns

Date Time Graduating School Honorary Award
Monday, 5 December 3.00pm

Lancashire Law School

School of Business

School of Management

Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching
Honorary Fellowship – James Cole
Tuesday, 6 December 11.00am

School of Engineering

School of Forensic and Applied Sciences

School of Physical Sciences and Computing

School of Psychology
Honorary Fellowship – Peter Hyett
Tuesday, 6 December 3.00pm

School of Art, Design and Fashion

School of Journalism, Media and Performance

School of Language and Global Studies

School of Humanities and the Social Sciences

School of Sport and Wellbeing

Honorary Doctorate – Angela Murphy OBE

Honorary Fellowship – Laura Massaro
Wednesday, 7 December 11.00am

School of Community Health and Midwifery

School of Medicine

School of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences

School of Social Work, Care and Community
Honorary Fellowship – Professor Norman Burrow
Wednesday, 7 December 3.00pm

School of Dentistry

School of Health Sciences

School of Nursing
Honorary Fellowship – Arthur Whitlock