Research Support at a glance

Welcome to Research at UCLan

We deal with all issues relating to postgraduate research students (PGRS) from admission to award.

We are also responsible for research development including Research Student and Research staff training, production of the University’s Research Magazine - BreakThrough, and systems to support Ethical approval.

 Research Student Registry (Harris Building room HB104)

The Research Student Registry is your main contact for research degree queries and should be your first point of contact regarding the administration of your degree, enrolment, progression (which is also referred to as Annual Progression Monitoring) and submission of your final thesis.

It is responsible for representing the interests of the postgraduate constituency within the University in all matters:

  • Contributing to research policy, strategy and management as it impacts on graduate students;
  • Supporting and monitoring the quality assurance and governance of research degree programmes.

For more information, please contact Fiona Mair, Principal Officer Research Governance, 01772 895083 or help4researchstudent@uclan.ac.uk 

Researcher Development Unit and Ethics & Integrity Unit (Foster Building room FB033 Basement)

Research Development & Support Team is part of the Research & Innovation Office (RIO).

Research Development Unit & Ethics and Integrity Unit are responsible for the maintenance of the research environment; the provision of research staff and student training and the support of academic-led systems facilitating Ethical approval – as well as supporting Research conferencing.

  • We offer research skills training that is mapped to the Vitae Researcher Development Framework and has received the HR Excellence in Research award (see Training). Packages are available whether the student is full-time, part-time or off-campus.
  • We manage the academically led Ethics system for the processing of all your research ethical issues.  The system received nomination for Times Higher Excellence in ICT (see Ethics).
  • We support URIS (the Undergraduate Research Internship Scheme)
  • We coordinate the UCLan submission to the 3MT (Three Minute Thesis) events

For more information, please contact Emma Sandon-Hesketh, Head of Researcher Development Unit & Ethics and Integrity Unit, 01772 892735 or roffice@uclan.ac.uk.

The offices are staffed from 8:45am to 5:15pm Monday to Thursday, 8:45am to 4.00pm Friday.
 

Research Student Registry (HB104)

STAFF ROLE TELEPHONE  EMAIL
Clare Altham Key Contact for College of Science & Technology and College of Clinical & Biomedical Sciences +44 (0)1772 893744 cealtham@uclan.ac.uk
Margaret Fisher Key Contact for College of Business, Law & Applied Social Studies and College of Culture & the Creative Industries +44 (0)1772 892708 mfisher@uclan.ac.uk
Fiona Mair Research Governance +44 (0)1772 895083 fmair@uclan.ac.uk
Fiona Dransfield Exams and Awards +44 (0)1772 894287 fdransfield@uclan.ac.uk
Khalil Patel Admissions, Exams and Awards +44 (0)1772 895082 kapatel@uclan.ac.uk
Barbara Richardson Admissions +44 (0)1772 894284 brichardson@uclan.ac.uk
Clare Wiggans Key Contact for College of Health and Wellbeing +44 (0)1772 894647 cmwiggans@uclan.ac.uk
Claire Wood Admissions +44 (0)1772 894618 clwood@uclan.ac.uk

 

Researcher Development Unit (RDU) and Ethics & Integrity Unit (EIU) FB033 Basement

STAFF ROLE TELEPHONE EMAIL
 Sinead Baldwin Ethics Officer, EIU +44 (0)1772892397 sbaldwin9@uclan.ac.uk
Trudi Emmens Research Training Co-Ordinator / URIS Co-Ordinator, RDU +44 (0)1772 893486  tmemmens@uclan.ac.uk 
Jenny Gavell Research Training Co-Ordinator, RDU +44 (0)1772 895090 jlgavell@uclan.ac.uk
Emma Sandon-Hesketh Head of Units - RDU & EIU, University Officer for Ethics +44 (0)1772 892735 ehesketh@uclan.ac.uk
Alison Naylor
Senior Research Officer - EIU +44 (0)1772 892728 aznaylor@uclan.ac.uk
Chris Riley Ethics Officer, EIU +44 (0)1772 894031 criley6@uclan.ac.uk