Navigation

Language Academy

Language Academy Staff

The teaching staff at the Language Academy are all qualified in their specialised area and will provide students with the knowledge, skillset, confidence and support needed to be successful.

Our staff have taught English all over the world and are now dedicated to helping international students coming to the UK improve their English language skills.

The transition to the UK and university life can be difficult at first, and our staff are always on-hand to help provide friendly support and guidance needed to make your UCLan experience as enjoyable as possible.

Here’s what some of our students have said about The Language Academy’s teaching staff:

“I had awesome teachers at the summer school. Their dedication and attention to every student fascinated me. It’s only thanks to them that I had such a magnificent summer.” Ramziddin Mansurov, summer school student, 2014

“All of our tutors were helpful, full of understanding and patient.” Joanna Mavridou, Autumn 2014

“I would like to thank all the staff at the summer school. They all helped me have a very enjoyable summer. I will never forget their kindness, friendship and politeness.” Muyassar Kurbanova, summer school student, 2014

Contact

Director of Studies

Matt Thurston 01772 895455 MThurston@uclan.ac.uk

Academic Teaching Team

David Ridley 01772 893154  DRidley1@uclan.ac.uk

Laura Walker 01772894138 LWalker6@uclan.ac.uk

John Moggan 01772 894247 JMoggan1@uclan.ac.uk

Janet Applegarth 01772 894249 JApplegarth1@uclan.ac.uk

Hillary Ross HEKRoss@uclan.ac.uk

Language Testing Team

Chris McGuirk 01772 894131 CTMcGuirk@uclan.ac.uk

Administration Team

Charlotte Walden 01772 893153  CWalden1@uclan.ac.uk

Mark Pan  01772 896427  HPan@uclan.ac.uk