Navigation

Research students

Graduate Research at UCLan

UCLan’s postgraduate research students (PGRs) each have their own team of supervisors to support them through their research programme. Each School also has one or more Research Degrees Tutors who can provide help and support for research students as well as monitoring students’ progress with their research.

There are two specialist services which assist students with other aspects of their programmes and research student life.

The research support infrastructure has been developed with two distinctive and complementary offices (located in Greenbank and Harris Buildings):

Research Student Registry located in Harris Building, Room HB104

This Research Student Registry (RSR) provides a wide range of support and advice for postgraduate research students for all stages of a student’s research degree: from admission through the research programme to the final award. Enrolment and progression records are managed by the office. The RSR also represent representing the interests of the graduate research constituency within the University.

For more information, please contact Fiona Mair, Principal Officer – Research Degrees

Telephone: 01772 895083 or email: help4researchstudent@uclan.ac.uk.

Research Development & Support Team located in Greenbank Building, Room Gr316

The Research Development & Support Team (RDS) is responsible for the research student training including the induction programme and research student conferences. The RDS team also administer and support the University’s Ethical Approval systems.

  • We offer research skills training that is benchmarked as good practice, and has received the HR Excellence in Research award (see Training). Packages are available whether the student is full-time, part-time or off-campus.
  • We produce research communiques including BreakThrough – the University’s Research and Knowledge Transfer Journal

We manage the Times Higher Nominated Excellence in ICT e-Ethics system for the processing of all your research ethical issues.

For more information, please contact Emma Sandon-Hesketh, Head of Research Development and Support, 01772 892735 or roffice@uclan.ac.uk.

UCLan’s research support infrastructure offices are staffed from 8:45 to 5:15pm Monday to Thursday, 8:45 to 4pm Friday.

Research Student Registry - Harris Building, Room HB104

Admissions queries email: researchadmissions@uclan.ac.uk

Queries from current students email: help4researchstudent@uclan.ac.uk


STAFF ROLE TELEPHONE EMAIL
Clare Altham Key contact +44 (0)1772 893744 cealtham@uclan.ac.uk
Margaret Fisher Key contact +44 (0)1772 892708 mfisher@uclan.ac.uk
Fiona Mair Research Governance +44 (0)1772 895083 fmair@uclan.ac.uk
Carol Mills Exams and Awards +44 (0)1772 894285 cmills@uclan.ac.uk
Fee Dransfield Admissions, Exams and Awards +44 (0)1772 894287 fdransfield@uclan.ac.uk
Khalil Patel Admissions, Exams and Awards +44 (0)1772 895082 kapatel@uclan.ac.uk
Barbara Richardson Admissions +44 (0)1772 894284 brichardson@uclan.ac.uk
Clare Wiggans Key contact +44 (0)1772 894647 cmwiggans@uclan.ac.uk
Claire Wood Admissions +44 (0)1772 894618 clwood@uclan.ac.uk


Research Development & Support Team - Greenbank Building, Room GR312
STAFF ROLE TELEPHONE EMAIL
Jenny Gavell
Ethics, Staff/Student Training and support to Head of School +44 (0)1772 895090 jlgavell@uclan.ac.uk
Emma Hesketh Head of Research Development and Support, University Officer for Ethics. +44 (0)1772 892735 ehesketh@uclan.ac.uk
Alison Naylor
Research Web Development, Ethics, Budgets, Publicity and Training +44 (0)1772 892728 aznaylor@uclan.ac.uk
Stuart Holmes

Ethics, Research Integrity and Training

+44 (0)1772 894031 sholmes@uclan.ac.uk